Commission Members

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

All Environmental Commission meetings will be held at the Municipal Building in the Council Chambers, 

475 DeMott Lane, Somerset, New Jersey starting at 7:00 PM.

Term Expires
Walter Andrews, Chair
Stanislav Jaracz
Arnold Schmidt  12/31/22
Paul Walitsky, Vice Chair
Dianne Pydeski
Jessica Johnson
Cecile Maclvor
Vacant, Alternate #1 12/31/20
Rezwan Razani, Alternate #2 12/31/20
Theodore Chase, Liaison 12/31/20
Mark Healey, Planner, Staff Contact

Member Biographies

Walter E Andrews, Chair – A resident of Franklin Township since 1981 with a BS in Chemistry and an MPH in Water Quality.  He is a retired Environmental Scientist from the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) after forty-two (42) years.  He is experienced in watershed management, pollution abatement, waste, water and drinking water quality, environmental justice, and environmental impact mitigation.

Stanislav Jaracz - Resident of Franklin Twp with PhD in Chemistry from Columbia University. Rutgers Environmental Steward. Member of NJ Electric Auto Association and Plugin America. Advocate for renewable energy and electric vehicles. Also serving in township’s Green Team. He is employed in a science & technology position at a consumer products company.

Arnold W. Schmidt – Arnold has a BS in Environmental Science and is a New Jersey licensed Registered Environmental Health Specialist.  In 2018, after 30 years, he retired from his Union County position where he coordinated and supervised the County’s Environmental Compliance and Enforcement programs enforcing NJ environmental regulations.  He is a member of the Township Open Space Committee and Shade Tree Commission as well as a member of the New Jersey Noise Control Council.

Paul J. Walitsky, Vice Chair – Has a B.Met and M.S. (Metallurgy) and an M.S in Management. He is a Certified Hazardous Materials Manager. He was Manager Environmental Affairs-Philips Lighting, responsible for Environmental Compliance for all of their North American Operations. He is a Member of the Board of Directors of Green Seal and has a consulting practice in energy efficiency.

Dianne M. Pydeski – Has a BS in Environmental Policy from Cook College of Rutgers University.  She is a Registered Environmental Health Specialist in New Jersey and has over 16 years of experience in carrying out the enforcement of state and municipal environmental and public health codes.

Cecile MacIvor – A resident of Franklin Township for 36 years with a BS in Chemistry and a BS in Pharmacy, she has been a licensed pharmacist for 40 years.  She served on the Township's Zoning Board for 3 1/2 years in the 1980's and is a current member of the Planning Board

Jessica Johnson - A resident of Franklin Township for 5 years and local Farm owner/operator for 3 years, Jessica comes from a creative background with a BFA in photography and printmaking, an MA in graphic communications management and technology and a professional certificate in intellectual property law. In addition to running the business end of the family farm, Jessica works in photo licensing for the National Hockey League, is an avid equestrian, animal lover and devoted advocate for renewable energy and sustainable bio-dynamic farming methods.

Dr. Theodore Chase, Jr. – Is the Commission's Council liaison.  He was recently elected to the Franklin Township Council, after having been a member of the Environmental Commission and Planning Board for the last 14 years and Open Space Committee for 8 years.  He is a retired Professor of Biochemistry from Rutgers University.