DR Canal Griggs

Historic Preservation Advisory Commission

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Notice to home owners:

Recent changes to what is considered normal maintenance pursuant to the Uniform Construction Code no longer mandate construction permits for the installation of siding for one and two family detached dwellings (except for polypropylene) and the replacement of roofs for one and two family detached dwellings. 

It is very important to note that all siding and roof replacements for all structures located in a Historic District still require Historic Commission review and approval before the work can commence.  To determine if you property is within an Historic District or for further information please contact via email  Vincent Dominach or 732-873-2500 (ext. 6274)

Map of historical districts

Contact Information

General mailing address:

Franklin Township Historic Preservation Advisory Commission
Municipal Building 
475 DeMott Lane
Somerset, New Jersey 08873


It is generally not necessary for applicants seeking a review hearing to contact the Commission directly as the Department of Planning and Zoning will routinely forward application materials to the Commission. The project will then be placed on the next open meeting agenda.  Since the Commission is a board made up of all citizen volunteers, there is no direct Commission member contact available through the Municipal Building.  The Senior Zoning Officer, Vincent Dominach, in the Department of Planning and Zoning is a staff contact point for the Commission and can be contacted at 732-873-2500 x6274.

Members are appointed by Council as detailed in Subsection C Establishment and Composition of the Commission; Terms; Removal and Vacancies; Records and Meetings ofSection 112-200 Historic Preservation Advisory Commission of Chapter 112 Land Development of the Code of the Township of Franklin, Somerset County, New Jersey

Member's Name Member's Term of Office
Class Commencing  Expiring

Andrew Burian, Chair A 01/01/14 12/31/17
Thomas Gale , Secretary C 01/01/14 12/31/17
Anthony J. Ganim C 01/01/17 12/31/20
Susan Goldey, Vice Chair C 01/06/15 12/31/18
Robert LaCorte, Open Space Representative C 01/01/16 12/31/19
Dominick Stanzione B 01/24/17 12/31/19
Frank Aiello, Secretary Alternate A 01/24/17 12/31/20

Nancy Hohnstine, Alternate #1 C 01/01/16 12/31/17
David Weaver, Alternate #2
C 01/24/17  12/31/18
Theodore Chase, Council Liaison (non-voting) 01/01/17 12/31/17
Robert Mettler, Local Historian (non-voting)

Vincent Dominach, Staff Contact 732-873-2500 ext.6274 Indefinite



Township History





Free viewers are required for some of the attached documents.
They can be downloaded by clicking on the icons below.

Acrobat Reader Flash Player Windows Media Player Microsoft Silverlight Word Viewer Excel Viewer PowerPoint Viewer